Six outstanding students from schools across Canberra have competed for the honour of being awarded the Snedden Hall & Gallop  2017.
The Year 12 students gave a presentation at the Moot Court at the University of Canberra and took part in an interview at the Deakin office of Snedden Hall & Gallop Lawyers.
Within a particularly strong cohort, the judges found that there were two students who shone.

Winners announced

We are delighted to announce that the winners of the Snedden Hall & Gallop 2017 University Scholarship are:

  • Grace Haverfield of Burgmann Anglican School
  • Harry Williams of Marist College

Grace spoke on the topic “Should ASADA be incorporated into a broader ‘Integrity in Sport’ body?”
Grace is our first winner from Burgmann Anglican School.
Harry presented on “Should Australia have more of an open-borders policy when it comes to Migration Law?”
Harry is the fourth winner from Marist College Canberra over the 19 years history of the scholarship.

Congratulations Scholarship Winners

We congratulate both Year 12 students who will receive financial support for the first 3 years of their legal studies at either the University of Canberra or the Australian National University. They will also have the opportunity to do work experience at Snedden Hall & Gallop Lawyers.
The winners will be presented with their awards at a cocktail reception on Thursday 2 November, 2017.
At this time, we would like to thank all the talented students, their nominating teachers and their supportive schools for participating in this competition.

University Scholarship for law awarded since 1999

Snedden Hall & Gallop has awarded the Scholarship to two ACT Year 12 students annually since 1999. The scholarship has been a unique mechanism for Snedden Hall & Gallop to support the next generation of Canberra lawyers.
Former recipients have gone on to become lawyers at firms across Australia, High Court associates, academics, University Medallists, an ACT Young Lawyer of the Year, the Young Canberra Citizen of the Year, an Australian Youth Representative to the United Nations and a Rhodes Scholar.

Thank you to University of Canberra

The scholarship competition is supported by the University of Canberra.  The School of Law generously provides a senior lecturer or professor as one of the judges as well as the Moot Court for the presentation.

Find out more

You can find out more about the scholarship in our previous post

Contact Details

For further information about the 2017 University Scholarship for law, please feel free to contact Dominic Cookman or Caitlin Meers at Snedden Hall & Gallop by phone on (02) 6285 8000 or by email