The Snedden Hall & Gallop University Scholarship turns 21 this year! Since we first awarded the scholarships in 1999, we’ve helped almost 40 aspiring lawyers by providing financial assistance during the first three years of their university studies. Many scholarship winners have also been able to join our team, even if only for a short time.
To commemorate this significant birthday, we’re going through the archives to give you an update on where some of those young stars are now.
Our first profile is Pauline Bomball, who worked with us as a paralegal between 2005 and 2008.

Pauline Bomball (nee Thai)

Where is she now?

Pauline is a lecturer at the ANU College of Law here in Canberra as well as a Fellow of the Harvard Law School Labor and Worklife Program.

How did she get there?

Pauline was a student at Merici College when she won the Snedden Hall & Gallop University Scholarship in 2004. She studied law and economics at the Australian National University, while also working with us.
Pauline graduated with first class honours in law, a university medal in law and 14 other academic prizes. She was also a student editor of the Federal Law Review and spent a year as an Associate to the Honourable Justice Virginia Bell AC of the High Court of Australia.
Since joining the staff of the ANU Law School in 2012, Pauline has received many awards, including the 2018 ANU Vice-Chancellor’s Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

What does Pauline say about the scholarship?

We asked Pauline about her memories of the scholarship program and her time working with us:
‘The work experience offered by SHG was invaluable.  I learnt a lot from the partners and lawyers at SHG.  My experience there opened many doors for me later in my career.  I am immensely grateful for the opportunities afforded to me by the SHG scholarship program.’

Want to know more?

To find out more about our scholarship program, please visit our website or contact Kirsten Cameron on 02 6285 8070 or by email.
You can read other scholarship winners here.